Seychelles Islands

Major Seychelles Islands - Mahé, Praslin & La Digue + Popular Outer Islands

The Seychelles Islands consist of a group of 44 islands (42 granitic and 2 coralline). Collectively referred to as the inner islands they occupy a total area of 244 km2, accounting for 54% of the total land area of the Seychelles and 98% of the entire population. There are two coral sand cays north of the granitics on the edge of the Seychelles Bank: Denis and Bird. The main Seychelles Island Mahé is the largest island (157.3 km²) and is home to a  population of 98,347, (2020). Enjoy a short overview of the most popular islands in Seychelles. 

Popular Inner lslands of Seychelles

Praslin is the second largest island (38.5 km2) of the Inner Seychelles. Praslin is also home to an small  Airport. Surrounding islands include Curieuse , La Digue, Cousin, Cousine  and Aride Island. 

La Digue was first sighted by a French navigator in 1742, but it was not named until 1768.  Today, the island’s main industry is tourism, and is known for its beaches, Anse Source d’Argent and Grand Anse.

Silhouette Island lies 20 km (12 mi) northwest of Mahé island. It is the third largest granitic island in the Seychelles. The Island is one of the richest biodiversity in the western Indian Ocean. 

Some Popular Outer Islands

Bird Island is the northernmost island in the Seychelles archipelago, 100 km from Mahe. The island hosts the largest seabird colonies in the world and is named in honour of its spectacular colony of around 700,000 pairs of sooty tern that nest here.

Denis Island is 60 kilometres (37 mi) north of Mahé and lies at the northern edge of the Seychelles. The island has an abundance of coconut palms, Takamaka and Casuarina trees. Denis Island is privately owned and has a short airstrip

Desroches Island is the main island of the Amirante Islands, part of the Outer Islands of the Seychelles. In 2007, Island Conservation Society opened a conservation center on the island, employing full-time staff.

Scroll to Top